Magdeburg in a group with Granollers, Dinamo and AalborgArticle
«Go back

NEWS REPORT: The 2002 EHF Champions League winners landed in Group A.
»2015-16 Men's News

Magdeburg in a group with Granollers, Dinamo and Aalborg

All 16 teams remaining in the Men's EHF Cup have learnt their fate in the group phase after the draw in Vienna has defined all four groups.

The draw has been conducted by Michael Wiederer, EHF Secretary General and Sandor Andorka, EHF Competition Commission.

The first round will be played 13/14 February 2016.

SC Magdeburg, who won the 2002 EHF Champions League, will meet Fraikin BM Granollers, Dinamo Bucuresti and last season's VELUX EHF Champions League Last 16 participants Aalborg Haandbold in Group A.

In Group B the second German team, Frisch Auf Göppingen, who won the old EHF Cup twice (2011, 2012) just before its merging with the Cup Winners' Cup, face Team Tvis Holstebro from Denmark, Dutch champions OCI-Lions and HBC Nantes, who are bidding for the EHF Cup Finals 2016 alongside Göppingen.

The three-time winners of the European Champions' Cup (forerunner of the EHF Champions League) SKA Minsk from Belarus will meet in Group C Denmark's Bjerringbro-Silkeborg, Pfadi Winterthur from Switzerland and St. Raphael Var Handball from France.

The third French team Chambery Savoie Handball, who played in the group phase two years ago, have been drawn into Group D together with three newcomers - Spain's Helvetia Anaitasuna, Sweden's Ystads IF, Romania's CSM Bucuresti.



Fraikin BM. Granollers (ESP)
SC Magdeburg (GER)
Dinamo Bucuresti (ROU)
Aalborg Handball (DEN)


Team Tvis Holstebro (DEN)
HBC Nantes (FRA)
Frisch Auf Göppingen (GER)


SKA Minsk (BLR)
Bjerringbro-Silkeborg (DEN)
Pfadi Winterthur (SUI)
Saint-Raphael Var Handball (FRA)


Chambery Savoie Handball (FRA)
Helvetia Anaitasuna (ESP)
Ystads IF (SWE)
CSM Bucuresti (ROU)

Group Phase schedule
Round 1 – 13/14 February 2016
Round 2 – 20/21 February 2016
Round 3 – 27/28 February 2016
Round 4 – 5/6 March 2016
Round 5 – 19/20 March 2016
Round 6 – 26/27 March 2016

TEXT: EHF / br