Spain claim Men’s 21 World Championship titleArticle
«Go back

NEWS REPORT: Spain have won the Men’s 21 World Championship for the first time, beating Denmark in a high-scoring, fast-paced final, 39:38 after extra time, in Algiers on Sunday

Spain claim Men’s 21 World Championship title

Spain have won the Men’s 21 World Championship for the first time in the nation’s handball history, beating Denmark 39:38 after extra time in the final in Algiers on Sunday.

For Spain’s 1996 generation of players it is the second title in a row after they also topped the podium at the Men’s 20 EHF EURO 2016 in Denmark.

France have claimed bronze with 23:22 against Germany, the silver medallists at the Men’s 20 EHF EURO last year.

Spain’s heroes of the final in Algiers were goalkeeper Xoan Ledo, who saved every Danish shot in the final three minutes of the match, and Daniel Dujshebaev, who scored the winning goal.

“This is something incredible, we won in such an epic way. We are in a dream right now,” Dujshebaev was quoted on the IHF website.

“He (Xoan Ledo) is the best goalkeeper of the World Championship. He played an incredible tournament. He has been playing like this for two years…He was amazing!”

 .@RFEBalonmano's hero does it again! This is how Ledo saved a 7-metre throw after the final buzzer to extend the game to extra time! ⌛

All-stars awarded              

The Men’s 21 World Championship closed with the awarding of the tournament’s All-stars. Finalists Spain and Denmark both had two people nominated to the team.

Denmark’s Lasse Moeller easily became the most decorated player, as he was not only named best left back but also became the World Championship’s Most Valuable Player as well as joint top scorer together with Tunisia’s Skander Zaied. Both scored 76 goals each.

Bronze medallists France, Germany and Hungary had one all-star each in their ranks.

The All-stars of the Men’s 21 World Championship

Left wing: Lukas Mertens (GER)
Left back: Lasse Moeller (DEN)
Centre back: Matyas Gyori (HUN)
Right back: Dika Mem (FRA)  
Right wing: Aleix Gomez (ESP)  
Line player: Magnus Saugstrup (DEN)  
Goalkeeper: Xoan Ledo (ESP)
Most Valuable Player: Lasse Moeller (DEN)  
Top Scorer: Skander Zaied (TUN) and  Lasse Moeller (DEN)  

TEXT: EHF / ts