All-star team voting opens in the VELUX EHF Champions LeagueArticle
«Go back

NEWS REPORT: For next five weeks all handball fans are invited to submit their votes on the season's dream team. There are 50 stellar names to choose from in the 2015/16 nomination.
»2015-16 Men's News

All-star team voting opens in the VELUX EHF Champions League

The culminating VELUX EHF Champions League season has reached the point again, when all handball fans can have their say on the selection of the greatest stars of the 2015/16 as the All-star team voting opens.

The past three seasons generated a great interest and only in the last year almost 44,000 handball fans took part in online votes. New opportunity to choose the star selection of the European top flight is here again.

In its fourth edition, the All-star team vote will again ask the fans to cast their online ballots for ten positions as the best coach and the best young player (born in 1993 or younger) had their premiere alongside the starting seven and best defender for the first time last year. There are five nominees in the selection for each position.

Players and coaches from 17 clubs and from 18 nations in the current season have been selected and seven members of the 2014/15 All-star team can make it back to the elite company.

The vote will be open until Tuesday 24 May 2016 (midnight) and the fans’ choice for the All-star team will be announced during the VELUX EHF FINAL4 event in Cologne on 28/29 May 2016.

Players have been nominated on the basis of their comprehensive performance throughout the season so far; not just their goal-getting prowess, but also their performance in defence, the number of blocks, assists and reaction in crucial moments during each match.

Enter the vote of the VELUX EHF Champions League 2015/16 All-star team here.

The players nominated for the 2015/16 season are:

Niklas Landin (DEN) / THW Kiel (GER)
Thierry Omeyer (FRA) / Paris Saint-Germain Handball (FRA)
Arpad Sterbik (ESP) / HC Vardar (MKD)
Mattias Andersson (SWE) / SG Flensburg-Handewitt (GER)
Rodrigo Corrales (ESP) / Orlen Wisla Plock (POL)

Left wing
Timur Dibirov (RUS) / HC Vardar (MKD)
Gudjon Valur Sigurdsson (ISL) / FC Barcelona Lassa (ESP)
Uwe Gensheimer (GER) / Rhein-Neckar Löwen (GER)
Manuel Strlek (CRO) / KS Vive Tauron Kielce (POL)
Jonas Källman (SWE) / MOL-Pick Szeged (HUN)

Left back
Momir Ilic (SRB) / MVM Veszprem (HUN)
Michal Jurecki (POL) / KS Vive Tauron Kielce (POL)
Wael Jallouz (TUN) / FC Barcelona Lassa (ESP)
Iman Jamali (HUN) / IFK Kristianstad (SWE)
Mikkel Hansen (DEN) / Paris Saint-Germain (FRA)

Centre back
Rasmus Lauge Schmidt (DEN) / SG Flensburg-Handewitt (GER)
Dean Bombac (SLO) / MOL-Pick Szeged (HUN)
Andy Schmid (SUI) / Rhein-Neckar Löwen (GER)
Nikola Karabatic (FRA) / Paris Saint-Germain Handball (FRA)
Domagoj Duvnjak (CRO) / THW Kiel (GER)

Line player
Julen Aguinagalde (ESP) / KS Vive Tauron Kielce (POL)
Rastko Stojkovic (SRB) / HC Meshkov Brest (BLR)
Tiago Rocha (POR) / Orlen Wisla Plock (POL)
Andreas Nilsson (SWE) / MVM Veszprem (HUN)
Alem Toskic (SRB) / HC Vardar (MKD)

Right back
Kiril Lazarov (MKD) / FC Barcelona Lassa (ESP)
Marko Vujin (SRB) / THW Kiel (GER)
Laszlo Nagy (HUN) / MVM Veszprem (HUN)
Alex Dujshebaev (ESP) / HC Vardar (MKD)
Jure Dolenec (SLO) / Montpellier HB (FRA)

Right wing
Gasper Marguc (SLO) / MVM Veszprem (HUN)
Lasse Svan (DEN) / SG Flensburg-Handewitt (GER)
Victor Tomas (ESP) / FC Barcelona Lassa (ESP)
Tobias Reichmann (GER) / Vive Tauron Kielce (POL)
Kristian Björnsen (NOR) / IFK Kristianstad (SWE)

Luka Karabatic (FRA) / Paris Saint-Germain Handball (FRA)
Timuzsin Schuch (HUN) / MVM Veszprem (HUN)
Erlend Mamelund (NOR) / THW Kiel (GER)
Viran Morros (ESP) / FC Barcelona Lasssa (ESP)
Tobias Karlsson (SWE) / SG Flensburg-Handewitt (GER)

Young player
Blaz Janc (SLO) / RK Celje Pivovarna Lasko (SLO)
Domagoj Pavlovic (CRO) / HC PPD Zagreb (CRO)
Darko Djukic (SRB) / Besiktas Jimnastik Kulubu (TUR)
Lasse Andersson (DEN) / KIF Kolding Kobenhavn (DEN)
Jerry Tollbring (SWE) / IFK Kristianstad (SWE)

Javier Sabate (ESP) / MVM Veszprem (HUN)
Ljubomir Vranjes (SWE) / SG Flensburg-Handewitt (GER)
Veselin Vujovic (MNE) / HC PPD Zagreb (CRO)
Raul Gonzalez (ESP) / HC Vardar (MKD)
Talant Dujshebaev (ESP) / Vive Tauron Kielce (POL)

Enter the vote of the VELUX EHF Champions League 2015/16 All-star team here.


A complete list of player and coaches profiles can be found on here

TEXT: EHF / br