Last Cup Winners' Cup holders to be known in RussiaArticle
«Go back

NEWS REPORT: The last edition of the Women's Cup Winners Cup before its merging with the Women's EHF Cup will be decided on court of its 2002 holders in Togliatti, Russia.
»2015-16 Women's News

Last Cup Winners' Cup holders to be known in Russia

Team Tvis Holstebro and HC Lada Togliatti, the two well-known rivals in the European Cup competitions have learnt their travel itinerary for the Women's Cup Winners' Cup on Tuesday after a draw at the EHF Office in Vienna decided the home right for both legs.

The competition's final has a special flavour this season as the 2015/16 edition is the last in history before the Cup Winners's Cup will merge with the Women's EHF Cup next season.

The first leg will be hosted by the reigning EHF Cup holders Team Tvis Holstebro from Denmark on 30 April/1 May, before the final move to Togliatti, Russia for the deciding match on 7/8 May.

Both teams have a long tradition of their meetings on the contentinal scene as the upcoming encounter will be their fifth tie in the last six seasons. All previous matches were in the EHF Cup and Lada were able to succeed just once against the Danish opponents.

Lada made their way to the final through Vfl Oldenburg (GER) in the Round 3, Ardesen GSK (TUR) in the Last 16, their domestic arch-rivals Zvezda Zvenigorod in the quarter-finals and Slovenian champions RK Krim Mercator in the semi-finals.

Holstebro, who can complete a Danish dominance in the Cup Winners' Cup in its last three seasons after triumphs of Viborg (2014) and FC Midtjylland (2015), have also overcome four teams on the road to the final - WHC Metalurg (MKD) in the Round 3, Austrian champions Hypo Niederösterreich in the Last 16, Viborg in the quarter-finals and Issy Paris Handball in the semi-finals.

TEXT: EHF / br