Colegio de Gaia celebrate Last 16 ticket in FinlandArticle
«Go back

ROUND REVIEW: The last seven teams for the Last 16 of the Women's Challenge Cup are found, the pots for the Tuesday's draw have been determined.
»2015-16 Women's News

Colegio de Gaia celebrate Last 16 ticket in Finland

Like it is often the case with double-headers, the three ties, in which both legs were played this weekend in the Women's Challenge Cup, ended with clear decisions.

The smallest difference was found in Helsiniki, where HIFK were hosting Colegio de Gaia from Portugal.

After 19:19 at half-time, the visitors won the first leg 36:29, and even though they were down 15:14 after the first 30 minutes of the second leg, they were never in danger of being sent out from the tournament, and ended by winning the second match too, 32:29 this time.

The difference was bigger in the Netherlands, where it was the hosts who held the upper hand. Schuler Afbouwgroep/DOS were receiving ABU Baku from Azerbaijan.

The Dutch hosts simply won the first match on Friday by eight goals – 27:19 – and the second leg Saturday by one goal less, 29:22.

The biggest difference was seen in Lubin, Poland as KGHM Metraco Zaglebie Lubin defeated Maccabi Arazim Ramat gam no less than 41:12 in the first leg Saturday.

However, this did not make the Polish women relax the following day, as they beat their visitors almost as big, 37:17 on that occasion.

In one of the ties that started last weekend, Izmir BSB SK were leading 27:17 against DHB Rotweiss Thun after the first leg at home, and the Swiss team never managed to catch up with this ten-goal deficit in the return match at home Saturday.

On the contrary. Izmir won again, this time 27:23 and made no doubt about their Last 16 berth.

Find all the Women's Challenge Cup Round 3 results here

Pots for Last 16 draw announced

The Last 16 draw will take place on Tuesday 24 November at 14:00 hrs at the EHF Office in Vienna.

The live ticker on will be available and also live tweeting on @ehf.

The teams are divided in two pots:

POT 1 (8 teams)

CZE    DHC Sokol Poruba
ESP    Rocasa Gran Canaria ACE
NED    Schuler Afbouwgroep/DOS
NED    Virto / Quintus
POL    EKS Start Elblag
SRB    ZRK Minaqua Vojvodina Novi Sad
TUR    Kastamonu B. Genclik SK
UKR    HC Karpaty
POT 2 (8 Teams)    
KOS    KHF Shqipona
MKD    HC Vardar junior
POL    Metraco Zaglebie Lubin
POR    Colegio de Gaia
SLO    ZRK Mlinotest Ajdovscina
SUI    Yellow Winterthur
TUR    Izmir BSB SK


TEXT: Peter Bruun / br