Görbicz claims the golden ballArticle
«Go back

NEWS REPORT: Györ captain won the scoring race ahead of Andrea Lekic from Vardar.

Görbicz claims the golden ball

For the second time within three years Anita Görbicz rules the final top scorers ranking of the Women's EHF Champions League. The centre back of the reigning champions Györi Audi ETO KC scored 87 goals in 14 matches. Sebastian Müller, global brand marketing manager of Adidas handed the golden ball over to her.

Györ captain was again instrumental for her team's successful quest of defending the EHF Champions League title and her top rank position among the best scorers of the league was all but confirmed even before the final game against Buducnost as the only serious contender Andrea Lekic remained one goal below Görbicz after the 3/4 Placement match of her Vardar vs Midtjylland.

The Györ stalwart underlined her sole lead by scoring another seven goals in the final game against Buducnost.

Click here to see the final ranking of this season's top scorers.

All-time overview of the EHF Champions League top scorers:

1993/94 Natalia Morskova (Mar Valencia/ESP) 102
1994/95 Snežana Petika (Podravka Koprivnica/CRO) 72
1995/96 Snežana Petika (Podravka Koprivnica/CRO) 77
1996/97 Natalia Morskova (Mar Valencia/ESP) 150
1997/98 Natalia Morskova (Mar Valencia/ESP) 127
1998/99 Natalia Derepasko (Krim Ljubljana/SLO) 120
1999/00 Ausra Fridrikas Hypo (Niederösterreich/AUT) 97
2000/01 Ausra Fridrikas (Baekkelagets Oslo/NOR) 83
2001/02 Ágnes Farkas (FTC Budapest/HUN) 112
2002/03 Natalia Derepasko (Krim Ljubljana/SLO) 81
2003/04 Bojana Popović (Slagelse FH/DEN) 98
2004/05 Tatjana Logvin (Hypo Niederösterreich/AUT) 85
             Bojana Popović (Slagelse FH/DEN) 85
2005/06 Natalia Derepasko (Krim Ljubljana/SLO) 86
2006/07 Bojana Popović (Slagelse FH/DEN) 96
2007/08 Timea Tóth (Hypo Niederösterreich/AUT) 127
2008/09 Grit Jurack (Viborg HK/DEN) 113
2009/10 Cristina Vărzaru (Viborg HK/DEN) 101
2010/11 Heidi Løke (Larvik HK) 99
2011/12 Anita Görbicz (Győri AUDI ETO KC/HUN) 133
2012/13 Zsuzsanna Tomori (FTC Rail Cargo Hungária/HUN) 95
2013/14 Anita Görbicz (Győri AUDI ETO KC/HUN) 87

TEXT: EHF / br