Fans to choose Women’s EHF Champions League All-star TeamArticle
«Go back

NEWS REPORT: Voting has started to choose the best of the best: the Women’s EHF Champions League All-star team for the season 2013/14.

»EHF CL Channel »2013-14 Women's News

Fans to choose Women’s EHF Champions League All-star Team

Following the huge success in the past season with more than 20,000 handball fans taking part in an online vote for the VELUX EHF Champions League All-star team 2012/13, fans have now the new opportunity to choose their season all-stars in the women’s European top flight too.

With the introduction of the MVM EHF FINAL4 as the season finale of the Women’s EHF Champions League, the EHF extends the online vote and have fans selecting as well a 2013/14 Women’s EHF Champions League All-star Team.

For the first time, the season’s All-star team is going to be chosen by those who know best just who has made the grade week in and week out: the fans.

From a selection of 32 players, four in each position and also the season’s best defensive player, fans are being asked to choose their own All-star team.

Players from 15 nations and from nine clubs in the current Women’s EHF Champions League season have been selected.

The vote will be open until Wednesday 30 April 2014. The fans’ choice for the Women’s EHF Champions League All-star team will be announced during the MVM EHF FINAL4 in Budapest on 3 and 4 May 2014.

Players have been nominated on the basis of their comprehensive performance throughout the season so far; not just their goal-getting prowess, but also their performance in defence, the number of blocks, assists and reaction in crucial moments during each match.

The players nominated for the 2013/14 season are:

Katrine Lunde Haraldsen (NOR) – Györi Audi ETO KC
Inna Suslina (RUS) – WHC Vardar SCBT
Barbara Arenhart (BRA) – Hypo Niederösterreich
Clara Woltering (GER) – Buducnost

Left wings:
Sonja Frey (AUT) – Thüringer HC
Tamara Mavsar (SLO) – RK Krim Mercator
Majda Mehmedovic (MNE) – Buducnost
Siraba Dembele (FRA) – WHC Vardar SCBT

Left backs:
Andrea Penezic (CRO) – RK Krim Mercator
Jamina Roberts (SWE) – IK Sävehof
Cristina Neagu (ROU) – Buducnost
Eduarda Amorim (BRA) – Györi Audi ETO KC

Line players:
Heide Löke (NOR) – Györi Audi ETO KC
Dragana Cvijic (SRB) – Buducnost
Ana Djokic (MNE) – WHC Vardar SCBT
Susan Thorsgaard (DEN) – FC Midtjylland

Centre backs:
Anita Görbicz (HUN) – Györi Audi ETO KC
Andrea Lekic (SRB) – WHC Vardar SCBT
Alexandrina Barbosa (ESP) – Thüringer HC
Milena Knezevic (MNE) – Buducnost

Right backs:
Nora Mörk (NOR) – Larvik HK
Katarina Bulatovic (MNE) – Györi Audi ETO KC
Line Jörgensen (DEN) – FC Midtjylland
Tatiana Khmyrova (RUS) – WHC Vardar SCBT

Right wings:
Jovanka Radicevic (MNE) – WHC Vardar SCBT
Alexandra Do Nascimento (BRA) – Hypo Niederösterreich
Linn-Kristin Koren Riegelhuth (NOR) – Larvik HK
Hanna Fogelström (SWE) – IK Sävehof

Best defenders:
Anja Althaus (GER) – Thüringer HC
Raphaelle Tervel (FRA) – Györi Audi ETO KC
Isabel Blanco (NOR) – Larvik HK
Suzana Lazovic (MNE) – Buducnost


A complete list of player profiles can be found on the website.

Online voting

Voting is open immediately and will run until 30 April 2014. Fans can choose their Women’s EHF Champions League 2013/14 team online or via the website.

TEXT: EHF / br