Four female head coaches awardedArticle
«Go back

EHF recognises the contribution of coaches of the national teams and their players at the Women's 19 EHF EURO in Denmark

»EHF Euro Events Channel »2013 Women's News

Four female head coaches awarded

Monique Tijsterman from Netherlands, Birthe Hansson from Sweden, Filomena Santos from Portugal and Darina Sveráková from Slovakia have been awarded by the EHF for their contribution of female handball coaches and strengthening the female leadership within handball.

The awarding followed the recommendation of the Women’s Handball Board and took place before the last matches of awarded coaches at the Women's 19 EHF EURO in Denmark.

"It is amazing how much you get in return from the players, I really appreciate that," said Dutch coach Tijsterman upon being asked about her motivation.

"Also the dialogue with other handball coaches about technical and tactical issues as well as organisational matters mean a lot to me.

"I also appreciate being able to pass on my experience and being able to coach and guide the young players."

"(My motivation is) to see how the players evolve and develop through these years from youth to senior players," added Birthe Hansson.

The member of the EHF Executive Committee and the EHF representative at the championship in Denmark Helga Magnusdottir presented the coaches with a memento of the occasion in the shape of a t-shirt with the logo “Handball is in my heart”.

In addition the EHF will provide a monetary award to the National Federations of the respective head coaches. All four awarded coaches led their teams both through the qualification process and the final tournament.

Young Handball Ambassadors

In a different action on the fringes of the Women's 19 EHF EURO in Denmark EHF also awarded the players of top four teams of the tournament as Young Handball Ambassadors. Helga Magnusdottir and EHF Event Manager Rima Sypkus presented each player with a memento of the occasion in the shape of a t-shirt with the logo “Handball is in my heart.”

TEXT: EHF / br