Three time champions versus Holstebro, Baia Mare and round 1 qualifierArticle
«Go back

The Women's EHF Champions League Qualification Draw took place at the EHF Office in Vienna

»EHF CL Channel »2013-14 Women's CL

Three time champions versus Holstebro, Baia Mare and round 1 qualifier 

All seventeen teams vying for four places in the 2013/14 Women’s EHF Champions League Group Matches have learned the names of their opponents as the draw of the qualification was carried out in the EHF headquarters in Vienna on Thursday 27th June.

The draw has been conducted by Sándor Andorka, the member of the EHF Competition Commission for Club competitions, and Michael Wiederer, EHF Secretary General.

The three-time EHF Champions League winners Viborg HK (DEN), who joined the qualification stage as one of four wild card entries, will play for the ticket in the European elite in Group 3 together with their Danish rivals and the reigning EHF Cup winners Team Tvis Holstebro, HC; Baia Mare and the winner of the knock-out match Muratpasa vs SERCODAK.

Group 4 consists of Rostov-Don, Jomi Salerno, Fleury Loiret and the emerging Macedonian powerhouse WHC Vardar SCBT. Group 1 contains two Norwegian teams Byasen Trondheim and Tertnes Bergen alongside HC Leipzig and BNTU-BelAZ Minsk.

All tournaments will be played over the weekend 14/15 September in two semi-finals, in which teams from Pot 1 will play against teams from Pot 4 and teams from Pot 2 will meet teams from Pot 3, followed by finals.

The first right to organise tournaments has been drawn to the teams from the row 3 BNTU-BelAZ Minsk, LK Zug and Jomi Salerno. However, as the winner of the knock-out match Muratpasa vs SERCODAK cannot host the tournament the right to organise Group 3 has been automatically to the Baia Mare from row 1.

The winners of the four Qualification 2 tournaments will join the twelve teams directly seeded for the Group Matches.

The draw has also decided about the home right in both legs of the Qualification 1 knock-out match as SERCODAK Dalfsen will host the first and Muratpasa BSK the second leg.

Results of the Women's EHF Champions League Qualification draw:

Qualification 1

1st leg: SERCODAK Dalfsen (NED) vs Muratpasa BSK (TUR)
2nd leg: Muratpasa BSK (TUR) vs SERCODAK Dalfsen (NED)

Playing dates: 24/25 August and 31 August/1 September 2013


Qualification 2

  Group 1 Group 2 Group 3 Group 4
Row 1 Byåsen Trondheim (NOR) FTC Rail Cargo Hungária (HUN) HCM Baia Mare (ROU) Rostov-Don (RUS)
Row 2 HC Leipzig (GER) ETV-Érdi VSE (HUN) Team Tvis Holstebro (DEN) WHC Vardar SCBT (MKD)
Row 3 HC BNTU-BelAZ Minsk (BLR) LK Zug (SUI) SERCODAK Dalfsen (NED) / Muratpasa B.S.K. (TUR) Jomi Salerno (ITA)
Row 4 Tertnes HB Elite (NOR) RK Lokomotiva Zagreb (CRO) Viborg HK (DEN) Fleury Loiret HB (FRA)

Playing dates: 14/15 September 2013

Read more about seeding for the Draw of the Women's EHF Champions League Group Matches here

TEXT: EHF / br