Spain win Men's 20 European ChampionshipArticle
«Go back

Spanish junior team take first European title in Turkey

»Inside the EHF Channel »2012 Men's News

Spain win Men's 20 European Championship

Spain are the new Men’s 20 European champions.

In the final they defeated Croatia 34:21.

It is the first time that the Spanish M20 team has won the gold medal at a European Championship.

However, it is their third medal in the past three years.

In 2010 the Men’s 18 team won the silver medal and in 2011 they were second at the Men’s Youth World Championship.

The Spaniards lost only a single match in the competition.

In the Main Round, the silver medalist Croatia were able to beat them (24:25).

Slovenia won the 3/4th play-off final against Sweden after an exciting match (36:34).

The Slovenian team had to go through two extra-times to secure the win.

Top scorer of the Men’s 20 European Championship is Martins da Silva Rui Sousa (Portugal) with 54 goals.

Complete ranking

1.    Spain
2.    Croatia
3.    Slovenia
4.    Sweden
5.    Portugal
6.    Norway
7.    Germany
8.    Switzerland
9.    Russia
10.  Denmark
11.  Iceland
12.  Poland
13.  Czech Republic
14.  France
15.  Serbia
16.  Turkey

Click here for a full overview of all the results.