2011 Men's U21 World Championship Qualification EuropeArticle
«Go back

Find the 8 recently qualified nations for the Y.A.C. event in Greece.

2011 Men's U21 World Championship Qualification Europe

Between 7 and 9 January 2011, 31 federations were playing the Qualification Europe for 8 remaining tickets to the 2011 Men's U21 World Championship.

The Qualification Europe was played in eight tournaments, the following group winners have qualified for the final tournament in Greece (IHF Event).

Qualification Results

Group 1 in Vrsac (SRB): Host nation Serbia won the tournament with three victories in three matches, including the crucial victory in the very last match of the tournament over their hardest competitor Iceland.

Group 2 in Nove Veseli (CZE): Slovenia managed the qualification with ease after three victories in three games. Even Norway, ranked second, were impressively defeated with a 15-goal margin.

Group 3 in Mersin (TUR): After a clear victory in the opener against the host nation Turkey, Spain won the tournament with two more victories over the Netherlands and Slovakia.

Group 4 in Eskilstuna (SWE): Host nation Sweden won the tournament with three victories in their three games against Belarus, Croatia and Austria, who all ended up with two points.

Group 5 in Helsinki (FIN): The younger age category team of world and European champions France triumphed in the tournament with three straight victories.

Group 6 in Poltava (UKR): After a victory over second ranked Ukraine in their opening game, Germany won the tournament after two further victories.

Group 7 in Angleur (BEL): Hungary won the tournament, despite being the only group winner that was defeated. In their opener the Hungarians lost to Poland, but wins over Romania and Belgium secured the group victory.

Group 8 in Ancona (ITA): In the only group with only three teams, Italy and Cyprus were not match for Russia, who won the tournament with two straight clear victories.

Qualified teams

All eleven qualified European nations are now known. The eight winners from the qualification tournaments join Greece (organising country), Denmark and Portugal (first and second at the 2010 M20 European Championship in Bratislava/SVK).

The final tournament will be played in Greece on 17 to 31 July 2011.

Find more information on 2011 Men's U21 World Championship Qualification Europe here.