Slovenia: Celje and Krim championsArticle
«Go back

Nothing changed in Slovenia, but the men's championship was more exciting than ever.

Slovenia: Celje and Krim champions

Celje defeated Koper in a very exciting last round and won the Slovenian championship for the 16th time.

Celje celebrate their 16th titleThe Slovenian men’s title race has not been this exciting for year. Celje Pivovarna Lasko lost the title only once in the past when Prule won in 2002. This time they were more careful after losing the Slovenian Cup this year.

The last round of the play off has seen a fantastic match in Zlatorog hall in front of 4,000 spectators. Celje needed at least one point to become champions. But Eduard Koksarov, Gorazd Skof and the others played their best match of the season and won against Koper.

It was already known that Cimos Koper would finish second after beating Gorenje Velenje in the previous round. This was a history achievement for the club from the Slovenian seaside as they finished second for the first time and reached the Champions League. Koper also won the Slovenian Cup earlier this year.

Gorenje will play in the EHF Cup next year, just as Trimo Trebnje. Gold Club have right to play in Cup Winners’ Cup.

Women: Krim unbeatable

Krim won their 14th league title in a row with comfortable ease. In the 22nd and last round they have beaten Velenje by an incredible 64: 26 goal difference.

Krim will go through many changes for next seasonThe Slovenian champions, who have been unbeatable for 14 years in Slovenia, won all 22 rounds. They did not have any real opponent as the other teams are far behind in quality.

The last match of the season was also the farewell game of Natalya Derepasko, Anja Freser, Olena Yatsenko and Tatiana Alizar.

Krim were disappointed with their European season, so they decided to form a team with the average age of 22 next year. Liudmila Bodnieva, Marina Vergelyuk and Sergeja Stefansin will stay from the experienced players, while the future of Tanja Oder is not yet known.

Celje finished second, Mercator Tenzor Ptuj came in third.

TEXT: Maja Mastnak, Sportal