Champions Trophy: CL teams show their formArticle
«Go back

Oltchim Valcea win Champions Trophy 2007 in Valcea to confirm their serious intentions in the CL.

» »2006-07 Women's Club Championship
»Final Round

Champions Trophy: CL teams show their form

Romanian handball fans had a great opportunity to see four European top teams and Champions League participants. Slagelse (CL winner), Lada Togliatti (CL finalist), Zvezda Zvenigorod (EHF Cup winner) travelled to Valcea to face Oltchim Valcea (Cup Winners Cup winner) for the Champions Trophy.

Valcea won the final against the Russian championsSemi-final 1: Zvezda Zvenigorod vs Slagelse

The Russian team won by 33:27 (18:15), but it has to be said that Slagelse did not play with their strongest team and Anja Andersen used this tournament for preparation purposes. On the other side, the team of Evgeniy Trefilov played for victory all the way. The best players on court were Elena Polenova with 12 goals and Ana Batinic with 10.

Semi-final 2: Oltchim Valcea vs Lada Togliatti

In the second semi-final, Oltchim Valcea defeated Lada Togliatti by 31:23 (13:11). The top scorer for the Russians was Irina Bliznova with 8 goals and Adina Meirosu with 11 on the Romanian side.

3/4 Final: Slagelse vs Lada Togliatti

A trilling bronze medal game was played between Slagelse and Lada Togliatti. The teams ended 28:28 (13:13). Amazingly, there was still no winner after two extra times (both 5 minutes). After a long series of penalty shots Slagelse won 35:34. The player of the match was Ana Batinic.

Oltchim Valcea take the trophy

Receiving the congratulations...In the final of the Champions Trophy Oltchim Valcea defeat Zvezda Zvenigorod by 23:19 (9:9). The player of the match was Romanian goalkeeper Luminita Dinu who saved almost everything and it was decisive even though Saidova was also in good form. The top scorer was Vadineanu with 8 goals.

This is the fifth European title in the history of Oltchim Valcea. In 1984 and 1989 they won IHF Cup, in 1984 they won Super cup and in 2007 they Cup Winners’ Cup. For the first time ever, they won two consecutive titles. The team of Gheorghe Tadici are going for the only missing trophy, the CL…

TEXT: Ivan Ambros